2019 Silver Beaver Award Nominations

In Scouting, we say “it’s about the youth” and none of our adults are involved for the recognition, but every now and then we need to say thanks especially to those volunteers whose leadership and example has left a lasting positive impact on the program and the broader community. One was we do that is through nominating a Scouter for the Silver Beaver Award, the highest adult recognition a council can bestow. Take a few moments to reflect on volunteers within your unit or district and consider nominating them for the Silver Beaver Award.

A detailed nomination form is available by clicking here and all nominations must be received by Monday, December 3, 2018.

Completed nominations can be sent via email or dropped off at the Canton or Marlborough Service Center.The awards will be presented at the Council’s Recognition Dinner in January.


Frequently asked questions about the Silver Beaver Award:


To recognize registered Scouters of exceptional character who have provided distinguished service within a council.  The award is presented by the National Court of Honor on behalf of councils.

Who Can Earn This Award?

Anyone may nominate any deserving registered Scouter to the council, which selects recipients for the following year. Each council may process their own annual allotment of Silver Beaver awards and shall send a list of Silver Beaver awards presented each calendar year to the National Court of Honor no later than January 31 of the following year.

Location Change for Training Events

Due to circumstances beyond our control the location for tomorrow’s Den Chief Training, Youth Protection Training and Cub Scout Leader Training events has changed. The new venue will be United Church of Christ – Abington,10 Bedford St., Abington, MA 02351. Please share this update with anybody you know who may be planning to attend. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Scouts BSA Marketing Assets Are Available Now

Scouts BSA tools and assets are available to help you create awareness and interest among youth and adults.

How to Offer Families a Second Chance to Join

There are a variety of ways to help families join who may have missed the sign-up night. Here are a few strategies.

How This Webelos Den Leader Is Welcoming Girls

“I’m back at it and loving every minute of it,” she says.

Who Gets Scouting Magazine?

When Scouting — back then more newsletter than actual magazine — sent out its first issue in 1913, readers were told that they’d receive the publication at no additional cost.

This essential resource for BSA news, inspiration and ideas, Scouting wrote, would be included in a volunteer’s registration fee. But there was a caveat: the offer was only “for the time being.”

Staffing Update

We regretfully announce that Tim Forsberg, District Executive of Sachem District is leaving his position with Mayflower Council. This is a great loss to the council but we can only wish Tim the best of luck in his new endeavors. Tim’s duties will be assumed by Rick Riopelle, Director of Field Service until a new District Executive is hired.



National Eagle Scholarship

You must be a current member of NESA to apply for the following scholarships.

There are three types of Eagle Scholarships:

  • Academic
    • Academic scholarships weigh academic performance, school and Scouting participation, and financial need.
    • Academic scholarships include a range of scholarships, up to four $25,000 scholarships (payable at $6,250 per year for four years) one $48,000 scholarship (payable at up to $12,000 per year for four years) and a $50,000 STEM scholarship for an Eagle Scout planning to major in a science, technology, engineering, or math field.
  • Merit
    • Hall/McElwain scholarships
      Awarded based on school and Scouting participation as well as community service.
      $5,000 – 40 minimum awarded annually
    • Robert and Rebecca Palmer scholarship
      Awarded based on school and Scouting participation as well as community service.
      $2,500 – Three awarded annually
    • Bailey scholarship
      Awarded based on school and Scouting participation as well as community service.
      $2,000 – One awarded annually
      $4,000 – One awarded annually
    • Michael S. Malone/Windrush Publishing scholarship
      Awarded based on desire to pursue studies in journalism.
      $2,500 – One awarded annually
  • Field Study
    • Since the program’s launch in 2012, over fifty Eagle Scouts have earned the distinction to be considered a NESA World Explorer. These young men have assisted researchers in destinations including the Galápagos Islands, Mammoth Cave, Amazon rainforest and South Africa.

The scholarship window for all scholarships is August 1st through October 31st.  Eagle Scouts who want to apply must do so by midnight in their time zone by October 31.

Learn More and Apply 

2019 Eagle Scout Service Project Of The Year

Mayflower Council NESA Committee

Is now accepting nominations for the

2019 Eagle Scout Service Project of the Year

The National Eagle Scout Association established the Glenn A. and Melinda W. Adams National Eagle Scout Service Project of the Year Award to recognize valuable service of an exceptional nature by a Scout to a religious institution, a school, community, or other entity. The award recognizes the Scout for his Eagle Scout leadership service project, which is part of the requirements for earning the Eagle Scout Award. Each year, the Mayflower Council National Eagle Scout Association Committee may select a winner from the applications received.

The recognition consists of a bronze device for the Eagle square knot, and a $250 award. Our winner’s Service Project will be submitted to the NE Region NESA Committee for consideration of their $500 award. If the Region selects his project, he will be in consideration for the National $2,500 award


You must have completed your Eagle Board in calendar 2019.

How to Apply

For more information and to download the Application for the Glenn A. and Melinda W. Adams National Eagle Scout Service Project of the Year, please visit:

NESA Adams Award

 A complete duplicate copy of your Eagle Scout Leadership Service Project Workbook (previously submitted by you to the Eagle board of review committee) must be attached to your application. Please note this copy will NOT be returned to you.

Applications must be received in the Council office or E-mailed on or before January 21, 2020

Your completed application should be sent to:

US Mail to:

NESA Eagle Scout Service Project Award

Mayflower Council BSA

2 Mount Royal Avenue, Suite 100

Marlborough, MA 01752

Or Email a PDF copy tonesa@mayflowerbsa.org

Columbus Day

The Marlborough and Canton Service Centers will be closed on Monday, October 8th in honor of Columbus Day.